scissors

BioWare Decides To Shut Down SWTOR Servers…On A Friday Night. DERP! (Updated)

Posted by on January 28, 2012 at 1:26 am

In what can only be described as a 40 pound box of fail, someone at BioWare decided to shut down the game servers for maintenance in the middle of Friday night / Saturday morning play.

I’m not sure who forgot to tell them that they have the highest traffic, on the weekends but…That person should have sent the memo.

Also, not only did they decide to shut down the servers, they also locked the forums, presumably to stop people raging at them.

I can’t think of a single time in all my history of playing MMO’s when a server was ever shut down on a weekend day or night without a serious issue being behind it. I’m naturally curious as to what the cause is for the shutdown, especially considering the fact that they are going to be doing regular maintenance on the 31st.

At this point, BioWare has given no indication, whatsoever, as to why the servers are down.

This is all they’ve posted (Under a thread titled “Sticky: Upcoming Patch + Scheduled Maintenance: January 31st, 2012” which is pretty shifty…they couldn’t even make a NEW thread indicating that the downtime had shifted).

Hi everyone!

Our upcoming maintenance for January 28th will begin from 2AM CST (12AM PST/3AM EST/8AM GMT/9AM CET) until 6AM CST (4AM PST/7AM EST/12PM GMT/1PM CET). All game servers will be offline during this period. This maintenance is expected to take no more than four hours, but could be extended.

There will be in-game notifications that the servers will be going down before maintenance begins.

In addition to this, we wanted to let you know that we will be performing scheduled maintenance for eight hours on January 31st, 2012 from 2AM CST (12AM PST/3AM EST/8AM GMT/9AM CET) until 10AM CST (8AM PST/11AM EST/4PM GMT/5PM CET). All game servers and swtor.com will be offline during this period. This maintenance is expected to take no more than eight hours, but could be extended.

For our new players, this weekly maintenance is done in order to make general improvements and to check performance of the game so that we can continue to provide a consistent, quality experience. Quite often (but not always) after a maintenance period there will a patch to download. After the maintenance, please login via the launcher to download the latest patch. If your launcher was open during the maintenance, you must close and reopen it for a fresh login.

Scheduled Maintenance

Date: Tuesday, January 31st, 2012

Time: 2AM CST (12AM PST/3AM EST/8AM GMT/9AM CET) until 10AM CST (8AM PST/11AM EST/4PM GMT/5PM CET)

All game servers and swtor.com will be offline during this period. This maintenance is expected to take no more than eight hours.

Thank you for your patience as we maintain service for Star Wars™: The Old Republic™.

And, as stated, here’s their indication that they were locking the forums:

Forum Posting Temporarily Disabled | Today , 01:28 AM
Hello everyone! We have temporarily disabled posting for all community members on Star Wars™: The Old Republic™ Forums.

We will update this thread when posting has been enabled again, and we apologize for any inconvenience. Thank you for your patience!

Antonio Moreno | French Community Lead

And since the forums are down, there’s no way to question why this has happened.

To the folks at BioWare: You have a hell of a good game. Lots of people are really enjoying it and things have been going along very nicely. Don’t destroy what you have by making poor decisions and frustrating your customer base to the point that they decide to find a new place to hang out.

Your lack of effective communication, un-addressed glitches and bugs, rampant warzone exploits and – in this case – downright underhandedness in the way you presented information to the players has a lot of people steaming mad (you should see the rage tweets I’ve gotten). It’s a shame.

Update: The patch notes indicate that the only thing which was rolled out was a service restart to address players having issues with getting booted to the character select screen. While this was not an issue for anyone I know, it WAS an issue for many and could be considered a game breaking bug.

Gotta give props to BW for working on fixes but at the same time I have to shake my head on the timing and the notification.

Don't Keep This a
Secret, Share It